REVIEWS

POWER DOWN

“Power Down is terrific! With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year.  Don’t miss this debut of novelist Ben Coes and the introduction of Dewey Andreas–you’ll devour this one and wait anxiously for their return.”

— Vince Flynn, New York Times bestselling author of American Assassin

“This debut thriller from former White House speechwriter Coes—one of the most visceral, gut-wrenching, blood-soaked, and flat-out brutal novels currently on the market—will have audiences gasping for air right up until the very end. Well done, Coes—don’t make us wait too long for the next appearance of this dynamic character. An essential acquisition.”

— Library Journal

“Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise–terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources–in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut. Readers will eagerly await Coes’s next effort and hope for Dewey Andreas’s return.”

— Publishers Weekly

“Power Down, the debut novel of Ben Coes, is one of those rare, glue-in-your-seat books. Sit down, pick it up, and start reading. You aren’t going anywhere for anything until you finish it.”

“Coes was a speechwriter for President Ronald Reagan, so it goes without saying that he knows how to communicate. Power Down demonstrates that Coes has few if any equals when it comes to telling a story. He takes on a number of divergent subjects — oil drilling, hydroelectric power, international politics, information systems, weaponry, hedge funds — and incorporates all of them into a fascinating and terrifying story that tastes, smells and feels all too real.”

“Coes provides an exciting, plausible and terrifying scenario for the United States and the world at large that will set your head spinning and make you like it. This is one book you will not want to miss under any circumstances.”

— Book Reporter, Joe Hartlaub

“A ripping thriller from an exciting new novelist.  Power Down kept me glued, turning the pages.  Lots of action, a terrific hero, and a slimy villain–thrillers don’t get any better.”

— Stephen Coonts, New York Times bestselling author of The Disciple

“I loved Power Down! It’s a fresh, exciting thriller and the action scenes are big, vivid and authentic, at times even breathtaking.  An impressive debut for Ben Coes.  I was blown away.”

— David Morrell, New York Times bestselling author of Creepers and creator of Rambo

“Power Down marks the emergence of a major new talent in the political thriller genre—no small feat in a field already packed with big names like Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, and David Baldacci. In terms of sheer entertainment value, author Ben Coes and his hero, the unusually but memorably named Dewey Andreas, are easily and immediately competitive with the very best the thriller field has to offer.”

“Power Down is a straightforward, fast-paced, and exciting story in the tradition of Tom Clancy and Stephen Coonts. The central threat is realistic and dramatic and feels like it could appear in tomorrow’s headlines. Coes uses a creative mixture of research and imagination, the result of which is a mostly realistic and believable terrorist scenario that is as frightening as it is plausible.”

“Coes, who used to be a White House speechwriter, demonstrates good command of language and has a sense of story pacing that is surprising for a first-time fiction author. The characters are likeable, if a bit formulaic, and there are a few welcome surprises in the cast, such as the patriotic head of the American energy conglomerate, and the villain, whom Coes paints with a decent back-story motivation rather than resorting to cartoonishness. Objectionable material is minimal but not absent; sensitive readers should be prepared for lots of violence and some inexplicit sexual content.”

“In an uncertain—not to say depressing—real-world economic and political environment, it’s refreshing to read a story where the characters, for the most part, respond the way you wish people would in real life. Power Down is a great debut and should easily secure a place on the best-seller lists and atop the thriller market.”

— The Fiction Addict

“For a debut novel Coes will have a lot to live up to with his next book. Considering the topic will be the India/Pakistan conflict with America right in the middle of it, he should have no trouble. Power Down is a political thriller that is the mold of a Nelson DeMille, Brad Thor, and David Baldacci book. It is powerful, relevant, fast paced, and suspenseful. A book the reader will definitely not want to put down.”

— Blackfive, Elise Cooper

“Ben Coes’ debut novel, Power Down, is a winner. He captivates the reader from page one. This story is very relevant considering the price of gas in America today.”

“The characters are extremely well developed. The reader is able to formulate the characters view of life and current issues. They form a kinship with the good guys and will grow to despise the bad guys.”

“Being this is the first book, a debut, this is what great writing is about. The skill and the passion put into this work is what being a great author should be about. The characters are built up amazingly and crafted in away to be believed. The plot is believable and the reality of the action is sweet, to the point and amazing. The problem with a lot of authors this day and age is they ramble on and on about garbage that just kills the moment or stretches the book out to the point it gets boring, not in this one, this is to the point, it does not ramble on, it’s fast, quick and amazing.

I beg you Ben Coes to not change your writing format. So many authors in the action or spy or delta or marine good guy books tend to ramble on as there series of books continue and I am hoping Coes does not do that because this book is where it’s at. An action packed good time, a character we can all relate to, a simple name Dewey and a character that if you piss him off or do something he is going to get the job done.

This is a wonderful written action book that lingers on after your done, you smile at the moments that Dewey lays it out in the story upon the bad guys. The good guys and the bad guys are believable and reality type based. The problem is with alot of action books they create these scenarios and weapons that don’t exist and are just plain fiction but this book lays it out in truth and even though the ordeal is fictional it can be believed.

This gripping edge of your seat action packed story knows what it wants to say and do and the reader can grab hold of that tension, I think this is a new major thriller that leaves it’s mark upon the book world. This is a new character to grow with, to like, to adventure with. I believe Dewey is like the next Jason Bourne. Dewey is an action packed modern hero that all can relate to.

Excellent in the story telling, characters, plot and most of all writing. A gripping read of action and thrills that make the reader want more. The action is non-stop and if I had a rating chart here on my reviews, it’s an easy five stars. All I can say is move over Brad Thor, Tom Clancy, Daniel Silva, Robert Ludlam because a new master is in the house and his craft is a Grade-A tour-de-force of story, action, page turning wonder that the reader becomes apart of.

I love it when I come across a good book and it just makes you feel great after reading it. That wonderful satisfied feeling. This book does that, it gives you a rush reading it and never lets you go and places you there in the ordeal and the action, building our main player in your mind and letting it go inside your imagination to fester itself and grow to the point you want more.

Amazing read.”

— Show Me Your Books